407 Laverne Street
San Antonio, Texas 78237
(210) 433-4695
HomeAbout UsWeekly ServicesGalleryContact/Locate Us

Dewey C. Johnson, Sr., Pastor

In 1995, Pastor Dewey C. Johnson was called to the ministry. His calling was acknowledged by Pastor Joseph Ward at Grady Memorial Church of God in Christ (COGIC). There he served as an Associate Minister, Church Administrator, and Construction Coordinator. Minister Johnson, at the time, was instrumental in leading the renovations of Greater Memorial's sanctuary.
In 1998, he was then called to the position of Assistant Pastor at the Healing Temple COGIC, where he provided strong leadership in the remodeling and rebuilding of the ministry, as well as an Administrator. He served with Pastor James Lewis and the New Hope family for 8 years.

In 2001, Pastor Johnson became an Ordained Elder in the Texas Southwest Jurisdiction.

On December 15, 2005, Bishop S.E. Iglehart appointed Pastor Johnson as the new leadership for the New Hope Church of God In Christ family. The membership was approximately 7 members and the church was in dire need of hope, inspiration, and strong leadership. During Pastor Johnson's tenure at New Hope the membership grew to over approximately 50 members and the church received over $15,000 in revitalizations. Pastor Johnson served at New Hope through August 2010.

In August 2010, Bishop S.E. Iglehart raised Pastor Johnson to the next level as the leader of Greater Joy Temple COGIC. In just a short time, he formed his Board of Trustees, continues to increase the overall membership, and completed Phase I renovations (Fellowship Hall and church offices which were apart of the original building structure). Phase II renovations are in the planning stages. These renovations, scheduled to be complete early 2014, will include the paving/fencing of our parking lot and to the internal structure.

Pastor Johnson has a vision and with God all things are possible!

Additional Accomplishments:
General Manager of Food Operations - Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio, Texas - supervises a team of 36 managers and associates; overseeing four locations which includes two dining facilities, a coffee shop, and convenience store.

25+ years of experience in the institutional food service
Attended San Antonio College & St. Phillips College; Business/Culinary Education Management
1975 - Graduated Healy Murphy College; earned Restaurant Management Certificate ServSafe Certification
Church History
Greater Joy Temple Church of God In Christ (COGIC) was established in 1949. Elder Ortho Williams and his wife Sister Anna, along with Evangelist Gertrude Kelly of the West End COGIC answered the Lord's call to this mission. The first member, Sister Velma Hunt, was soon added to the fold.

After purchasing the present lot on Laverne Street, the mesquite trees and bushes were cleared and a tent put up by the leading of the Lord. Later, a one-room barrack was purchased from Kelly AFB, where the pastor was employed. Worship services were held in this barrack until Elder Williams was able to build a new edifice.

The Church grew in membership and Elder Williams served the Lord faithfully until January 1963, when he was stricken with a heart attack. Rushed from service at Joy Temple, the founder and Pastor later expired.

Shortly thereafter, Elder Paul Roberson was appointed to Pastor the flock. He was a diligent worker and inspired the church to new heights during his brief pastorate. Following his untimely death in November 1966, Elder R. T. Iglehart accepted the appointment to the church.

Under Elder Iglehart's direction the congregation continued to grow. Emphasis was geared toward soul winning, salvation and the baptism of the Holy Ghost. Several years later, he renovated the original building. In 1981, he challenged the church with a vision of a five-year building fund drive to erect a new edifice. In March 1985, the church dedicated the new sanctuary. Pastor Iglehart and his wife, Sister Billie Dove served faithfully until his passing in October 1990.

In January 1991, Pastor Duane Hammons and Sister Melonie (Tina) Hammons assumed leadership of the Alpha Joy Temple Church Family. With high goals and expectations for the church, including a Christian-based childcare facility, Pastor and Missionary Hammons served until July 2002.

In November 2002, Pastor Edward E. Kemper was appointed to serve the flock and renamed the church to Greater Joy Temple COGIC. Although a challenge lay ahead, Pastor and Sister Kemper accepted with Godly enthusiasm. Under his leadership, the congregation paid off the existing mortgage and purchased the lot next to the church. Pastor and Sister Kemper enhanced God's house and were powerful leaders of the flock until 2010.

In August 2010, Pastor Dewey C. Johnson was appointed by Bishop S.E. Iglehart to become the leader of Greater Joy Temple. Pastor Johnson was ordained in 2001 and became an ordained elder in the Texas Southwest Jurisdiction. In the short time he has served at Greater Joy, he has formed his Board of Trustees, continues to increase the overall membership, and completed Phase I renovations (including renovation what is now the Fellowship Hall and church offices). Phase II renovations are in the planning stage which will include the paving/fencing of our parking lots and additional renovation to our inside facilities.